Frequently Asked Questions

1. What classes do you offer?

 

  • License Renewal - 4 hours for all electricians ($60)

  • Exam Prep Course - 40 hours ($400)

  • OSHA - 10 hours ($110) and 30 hour Construction Safety Class ($240)

 

2. How do you become an electrician?

 

  • Pay TDLR for apprentice license (1-800-803-9202 or 1-877-783-3926)

  • Start working for electrical contractors

 

3. Do you offer beginner's classes for electricians?

 

  • Not at this time - contact IEC, Lamson Institute, St. Phillips, South Texas Electrical JAIC

 

4. When is a registered professional engineer (P.E.) required for electrical work?

 

The City of San Antonio requires electrical plans to be sealed by a professional electrical engineer registered in the state of Texas for any of the following:

  • All Group A (Assembly)  -  Theaters, Restaurants, Bars, Churches, Stadiums, etc.
  • All Group E ( Educational)  -  Day Care, Grades 1st  - 12th, Religious Educational Rooms, etc.
  • All Group I  (Institutional )  -  Care Facilities, Assisted Living Facilities, Social Rehabilitation Facilities, etc.
  • Buildings and structures over three stories or more in height
  • Buildings and Structures 5,000 square feet or more in area
  • Installation or alterations of any equipment on the customer point of delivery rated over 400 amps at 250 volts or less.
  • Installation or alteration of any equipment on the customer point of delivery rated over 200 amps at greater than 250 volts.
  • Any system above 600 volts or
  • When required by the Texas Engineering Practice Act.
 

Helpful Links